David Bowie Will Never Perform Live Again

bowienuevo

David Bowie has no intention of playing live ever again despite the imminent release of surprise album The Next Day, says his producer.

Bowie regularly emphasised the point during recording sessions, Tony Visconti reports.

The influential musician astonished the world with the launch of new single Where Are We Now? on his 66th birthday, along with news of the album launch in March.

Last week guitarist Earl Slick admitted he hoped tour dates might be on the cards – but Visconti says Bowie has all but ruled it out.

He tells NME: “He’s fairly adamant he’s never gonna perform live again. One of the guys would say, ‘Boy, how are we gonna do all this live?’ and David said, ‘We’re not’. He made a point of saying that all the time.”

Where Are We Now? was quietly made available on iTunes at midnight on January 8, without any kind of announcement or press release.

Last week Visconti said the single wasn’t representative of the full-length record, describing other tracks as “real rock.” He also shouted down long-standing rumours that Bowie’s health was failing.

Now he tells The Hollywood Reporter: “We had to sign non-disclosure agreements – but that wasn’t necessary. We love David so much. Everyone in the project, except for a few, were old-timers; people who’d made albums or toured with him.

“We didn’t tweet it, put it on Facebook or even tell our best friend. That was the hardest part: people close to me wanted to know what I was working on and I couldn’t tell them.

“I knew if I told one of them, somebody would leak it and it would be all over the world in a day. I didn’t even tell my children what I was doing.”

Bowie decided on the birthday launch strategy several months ago, says Visconti. “The countdown was unbearable. When it was finally released I stared at my computer for 15 minutes until the first person realised it was simply dropped in iTunes.”

The producer says some tracks on The Next Day might be at home on classic album Scary Monsters, while others match the feeling of Heathen.

And he hopes Bowie’s work might shake up the current music environment, which he describes as unimpressive.

“It all sounds like it was made by the same person – it’s very computerised,” he argues. “There’s a style and a sound in all these modern records where they’re interchangeable. It could be the same production crew, it could be the same singer. Everybody is AutoTuned to death and the songs are very flimsy. It all relies on beats rather than quality lyrics.

“These days, if a kid gets a new laptop and there’s GarageBand on it, within five minutes they sound like somebody on the radio. This can’t be good – it’s either the radio is bland or people have lower expectations.”

Like Slick, Visconti admits the decision to lead the album with Where Are We Now? surprised him.

But he says: “I should know better. Bowie is never traditional; he always breaks the rules.

BOWIE VISCONTI CUCHO PEÑALOZA

 David Bowie and producer Tony Visconti 2002 ..

“I think he understood immediately – before I even did – that people had to deal with the shock that he was back. That in itself is news breaking. So he was easing people in with a slow ballad.

“I’m just theorising here, but it’s very nostalgic about the Berlin period; especially in the video, where there are some vintage shots of Berlin in the 70s.

“It made me almost cry – I did weep, actually, I’ll confess. The first time I saw it, I got so choked up because I had been in those places with him.

“But it’s more about being at a certain place in your life, where everything was really good and happening. I think that evokes nostalgic feelings in people. That’s definitely the theme of the video, having so much vintage footage in it.”

 

————

 

I DONT BELEIVE THIS, HOPE IS  MARKETING THING OF THE THIN WHITE DUKE

 

 

19 pensamientos en “David Bowie Will Never Perform Live Again

  1. Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue with your site in web explorer, would check this? IE nonetheless is the market leader and a huge component of other folks will omit your magnificent writing due to this problem.

  2. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you propose starting with a free
    platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m totally confused .. Any ideas? Thank you!

  3. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  4. May I just say what a relief to discover someone who actually understands what they’re discussing on the internet. You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people must read this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised that you’re not more popular because you surely have the gift.

  5. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

  6. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this short article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  7. What I have generally told folks is that while looking for a good on-line electronics retail store, there are
    a few issues that you have to consider. First and foremost, you want to make sure
    to look for a reputable and in addition, reliable
    retailer that has gotten great evaluations and scores from other buyers and business
    sector advisors. This will make sure that you are getting along with a well-known store that provides good assistance and help to it’s patrons. Thanks for sharing your opinions on this blog.

Responder

